

eight.buggy@efra.ws +34 629 840 268 Carlos Gomez Ambriosio

Leceaga 8 6D 48002 Bilbao

Spain

Chairman 1/8th Off Road

Bilbao 20<sup>TH</sup> November 2018

## WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS!

Yesss!, we made it again, The IFMAR World title is again at home, in Europe, now in the magic hands of amazing DAVIDE ONGARO and its Team Associated RC8B3.1 car.

But not only Davide has shown the strength of the European drivers, but David Ronnefalk & Robert Batlle heading the Europeans with young student Ricky Berton and Renaud Savoya entering into the 60 minutes Main Final at Perth, Australia. 5 drivers into the main final and another 5 at semifinal level, Boots, Figueiredo, Neumann, Coelho and Canas. Excellent performance.

But the IFMAR Race has been immediately after our EFRA AGM at Brussels. There we have elected Javier GARCIA as our new EFRA President and had taken the decisions in order to prepare our EFRA racing Calendar for 2019 & 2020, this is what we do have decided:

## Final Race calendar 2019

Year/Date	Alt. Date	Status	Country	Venue
3-5 May 2019		IR B Warm Up	Spain	Silla (Valencia)
24-26 May 19		IR A Warm Up	Italy	Sacile
14-16 June 19		EC B	Spain	Silla (Valencia)
9-13 July2019		EC A	Italy	Sacile
30.1 Au-Sp19		EC Electric	Spain	Barcelona
13-15 Sept 19		EC 40+	Germany	Landshut

## **Future Race calendar Championships**

Year/Date	Alt. Date	Status	Country	Venue
2020		EC A	Spain	REDOVAN
2020		EC B	Austria	FEHRING
2020		EC Electric	Slovak Rep	TRENCIN
2020		EC 40+	France	REDING

Special recommendation 2021 Styria for EC +40.

More practice runs at the EFRA events, shorter ones but more frequent ones as well, and some modifications on how we measure the width of the car together with a new points system for Qualifying are the main changes done at the Section Meeting, you can find the minutes at our new EFRA web page <a href="http://www.efra.ws">http://www.efra.ws</a> and more precisely here:

www.efra.ws

https://www.efra.ws/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/minutes%201-8%20Buggy%20revised%20CG.pdf



Just a 30 hours trip from Brussels EFRA AGM to Swan Valley in Perth, West Australia, to arrive there 2:00 a.m. at the first day of the Qualifying Rounds, too late to help over important matters like watering program or timetable, but that is how is life, not easy.

At the same time that racing was taken place, we hold IFMAR Meetings and we did succeed with our proposal for a definitively shorter event, 6 days racing with 180 drivers limit and there were good perspectives in order to have an new IFMAR World Championship, the +40 one, The MASTERS.

Race was evolving and the chances of our drivers as well, the Watergate was the only cloud over an EXCELLENT carried out event, incredible effort by the MORBC and the Australian Association and a good level. Before the start of Qualifying we were requested to give 4 names for the European Team, and we did it so giving the names of Ongaro, Ronnefalk, Batlle and Canas, hard to choose with the presence of our new Eurochamp Bruno Coelho and strong drivers like Elliot Boots. My choice proven to be correct with 3 of them entering into the Main final and making a 1-4-6 result valid enough to bring the new title to Europe in front of ROAR, FEMCA and FAMAR Blocs.

By the way, I have forgotten to mention that at the EFRA AGM we did approved the new EFRA Dynamic Ranking System for 1/8 IC Buggy and I have made 2 rankings, one after our EFRA European Championships at Freixedas in August and the latest one after the IFMAR World Championship in Perth, Australia.

We are publishing the top100 European drivers, so all organizers are able to know who are the not only the best 10 or 15 of them, we all know those, but a complete list, so it will be easier to prepare practice groups by drivers skills.

And a complete hour, 60 minutes, not easy ones, to crown a new IFMAR World Champion, after the final the top 6 were members of the IFMAR World Title Holder Club with young Riccardo Berton as the first one not inside the club but preceding another 2 members of the Club like Jared Tebo and Naoto Matsukura, as said, ONGARO was our winner, a deserving one after an absolute domination of the main final. Congratulations!



With my best regards

Carlos Gomez EFRA Section Chairman 1/8 Off Road Buggy



